At the 2023 Affective Computing + Intelligence Interaction Conference (September 10-13), we will host a half-day EPiC workshop. This workshop will include:

  1. A first-time reveal of the results of the 2023 EPiC Challenge.

  2. Presentations from several teams that participated in the 2023 EPiC Challenge.

  3. A keynote address from Drs. Lisa Feldman Barrett and Karen Quigley.

  4. Discussions of future directions for the Emotion Physiology and Experience Collaboration.


  • 9:00 - 9:10: Opening Remarks (Maciej Behnke)

  • 9:10 - 10:10: Keynote talk
    • Context Reconsidered: Population thinking, relational realism and the study of emotion (Lisa Feldman Barrett and Karen Quigley)
  • 10:10 - 10:30: Coffee break

  • 10:30 - 12:00 EPiC Challenge Session
    • Introduction to EPiC Challenge (Bartosz Perz)

    • Ensemble Learning to Assess Dynamics of Affective Experience Ratings and Physiological Change (Monica Perusquía Hernández and Chirag Raman)

    • Deep Learning Analysis of Electrophysiological Series for Continuous Emotional State Detection (Javier Orlando Pinzon-Arenas)

    • Affective Computing as a Tool for Understanding Emotion Dynamics from Physiology: A Predictive Modeling Study of Arousal and Valence (Tomás Ariel D’Amelio)

    • Unvieling the EPiC Challenge Results (Stanisław Saganowski)

    • The future of EPiC (Nicholas A. Coles)

  • 12:00 - 1:30: Lunch

Workshop organizers

  • Stanisław Saganowski (Wroclaw University of Science and Technology, Poland; stanislaw.saganowski[at]

  • Bartosz Perz (Wroclaw University of Science and Technology, Poland; bartosz.perz[at]

  • Maciej Behnke (Adam Mickiewicz University, Poland; macbehnke[at]

  • Nicholas A. Coles (Stanford University, USA; ncoles[at]

Workshop committee

  • Andrzej Jarynowski (Institute of Interdisciplinary Research, Poland)

  • Dominika Kunc (Wroclaw University of Science and Technology, Poland)

  • Lorenzo Pasquini (University of California, San Francisco, USA)

  • Łukasz Czekaj (Aidmed, Poland)

  • Michał Wróbel (Gdańsk University of Technology, Poland)

  • Mikołaj Buchwald (Poznan Supercomputing and Networking Center, Poland)

  • Przemyslaw Kazienko (Wroclaw University of Science and Technology, Poland)

  • Sabyasachee Baruah (University of Southern California, USA)

  • Tiantian Feng (University of Southern California, USA)